Sewing projects on hold…

July 20, 2010

because I am refinishing a new sewing table!

I feel in love with a solid wood desk I found on craigslist, for $50 no less! Not that my old sewing table, but it was quite tiny and would always cause me troubles for layout my fabric or work.

My new table has a tabletop that is 7 feet by 4 feet – plenty of space for my projects!

I decided to try my had at refinishing. Man, did I not realized what I got myself into.

All the steps of removing lacquer, removing original stain, sanding, applying new stain, and then sealing. UGH. I keep reminding me of my end result, a massively awesome new sewing table! I must repeat that in my head as I have another good 3 hours of lacquer removal. Wish me luck!

Here are some before and in-progress pictures.

    

I want to finish this desk ASAP so I can get back to sewing. Plus I am sure my hubs would like his garage back, too.

Heather

Leave a Reply

